4 reasons why having an experienced sex crime defense attorney matters

Being charged with a sex crime is a traumatic and life-changing event for you and your family, which is why it’s important to have the right attorney on your side to protect your rights. Here’s why it’s vital that you hire an experienced sex crime defense attorney:

  1. Reduce your jail time: In New Jersey, serious crimes like misdemeanors and felonies are classified as ‘indictable offenses’. These offenses carry heavier sentences including high fines and lengthy jail times of between 18 months to life. An experienced attorney will be able to aggressively fight your case and find it’s weaknesses in order to reduce time behind bars and fines as much as possible.
  2. Protect your reputation: Being convicted of a sex crime and having to register as a sex offender can be a life sentence even when the jail time you face is short. You will be labeled by your friends, family and community, and your reputation will be destroyed. This makes it essential to find an attorney who has direct experience in defending sex crimes and a good track record for success, as they will know best how to fight your case from the moment of your arrest.
  3. Protect your future: Being a registered sex offender or convicted of sex crimes can make it almost impossible to find and keep a job. Supporting yourself, your family and your loved ones may easily become an impossible task, as you have to disclose your conviction on job applications. That’s why tearing down the case against you is so important – and you need the right knowledge and experience on your side to do this.
  4. Get the most aggressive, robust defense: An experienced defense attorney will know how to investigate sex crime cases, cross-examine witnesses effectively, discredit testimony against you and eliminate any surprises. This will give your case the best possible chance of winning or being dismissed.

Get the representation you need to successfully fight your case

Dennis Calo is a respected defense and trial attorney with over 40 years of experience in fighting serious charges against his clients. Known for his thoroughness, professionalism and robust representation of his clients, his knowledge and experience are key to defending clients successfully from sex crimes charges.

If you are facing a sex crime charge, you need a lawyer who can provide expert assistance as soon as possible. As a former prosecutor, Dennis Calo is uniquely positioned to give you the advice you need to deliver a strong, effective representation of your case and fight it from every possible angle. If you want a criminal defense lawyer that you can trust to defend your case professionally and aggressively, contact us today and find out how Dennis Calo can help you.

For more information, visit www.criminaldefense-nj.com.

 

This content was originally posted at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/4-reasons-why-having-an-experienced-sex-crime-defense-attorney-matters/

What to do if you’ve been charged with assault or battery

Being charged with a crime is a serious situation and, if you or a family member has been charged with assault or battery in the State of New Jersey, then you need to know exactly how to fight the charge and keep a clean record. Here’s some advice from a leading New Jersey criminal defense attorney.

Speak to a New Jersey criminal defense lawyer 

Whether the police have made an error in your arrest or you were simply defending yourself, the most important thing to do is hire a qualified criminal defense attorney that you can trust. Many people put this off out of fear that it makes them appear guilty, but this can lead to serious problems. Legal representation has often led to avoiding serious charges, complaints being dropped and reduced sentences, so act quickly and hire a lawyer as soon as you can.

Know New Jersey’s assault laws 

In New Jersey, there are both simple and aggravated assault laws, each with different sets of penalties.

In the case of a mutual fight, these laws carry a penalty of up to 30 days. Other cases fall under the charge of simple assault, the most common and most basic of the charges, and can result from allegations that you:

  • Threatened someone to the point where they felt injury was imminent.
  • Caused injury to someone with a deadly weapon through negligence.
  • Attempted to cause injury to another on purpose, knowingly or recklessly.

This is known as a disorderly persons offense and carries a sentence of up to 6 months behind bars.

Charges of aggrieved assault are more serious and carry a higher penalty of up to 10 years in jail. This sentence is dependent on the seriousness of the charge, with a fourth degree charge being the most lenient and a second degree charge carrying the most severe sentence.

Your attorney will negotiate on your behalf

Experienced defense attorneys know the legal system inside out – and former prosecutors know it even more thoroughly. Dennis Calo is a criminal defense attorney with 40 years of experience in a wide range of criminal cases. A respected trial attorney, he can assist you right from the start – from monitoring your arrest to negotiating pleas, robustly representing you in court and managing the appeals process, if needed.

If you want a criminal defense lawyer that you can trust to defend your case professionally and aggressively, contact us today and find out how Dennis Calo can help you. Visit www.criminaldefense-nj.com for more information.

This content was originally posted at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/what-to-do-if-youve-been-charged-with-assault-or-battery/

Bergen County NJ criminal lawyer explains the difference between being charged with an offense or a crime

One of the most frequently asked questions to criminal lawyers by clients is how crimes are classified – specifically, the difference between being charged with a crime and being charged with an offense.

How are crimes classified in the USA?

Firstly, we must look at the classification system for crimes in the USA. This is based on how serious the nature of the crime is, with felonies and capital crimes being the most serious, misdemeanors being moderately serious and infractions being the least serious.

Felonies and capital crimes – These include any crimes for which you can receive more than a year in prison. This includes crimes like murder, rape and kidnapping as well as (in some cases) armed robbery and grand theft. Capital crimes are felonies that are punishable by death.

Misdemeanors – This covers less severe crimes where the sentence is less than 12 months in prison, for example, battery, DUIs and possession of marijuana. In certain circumstances, these crimes can all be raised to a felony.

Infractions – These crimes often incur no jail time and can be punishable by fines. Examples of infractions include running a stop sign, speeding or disobeying noise ordinances. These can be raised to a more serious offense if the circumstances are more severe, for example, if a person running a stop sign injures someone.

How are crimes classified in New Jersey?    

New Jersey has a slightly different way of classifying crimes than the USA generally does. Rather than calling them felonies or misdemeanors, the state uses a system that classifies them as different level offenses.

Indictable offenses – These are classified by degrees and are comparable to felonies, as they incur at least one year in prison.

  • First degree indictable offenses – These are the most severe crimes and include rape, murder and manslaughter. They carry a sentence of between 10 years and life, as well as possible fines of up to $200,000.
  • Second degree indictable offenses – Crimes in this category are less severe and include sex crimes, aggravated arson, kidnapping and white collar crimes, amongst others. These crimes can lead to a sentence of 5 – 10 years and a possible fine of up to $150,000.
  • Third degree indictable offenses – This category includes arson, possession of a controlled substance and some more severe DUI offenses. If convicted, these offenses can lead to a 3-5 year prison sentence and fine of up to $15,000.
  • Fourth degree indictable offenses – These are the least severe of the felony-level crimes and include stalking, some robbery offenses, forgery and some DUI offenses that don’t qualify to be third degree crimes. A conviction of this offense can include up to 18 months in prison and a fine not exceeding $10,000.

For more minor or petty crimes, an individual can be charged with a disorderly person offense or a petty disorderly person offense. These are the equivalent of misdemeanors in other states and carry either a prison sentence of less than a year or fines.

Expert representation from a leading criminal lawyer

If you have been charged with an offense, no matter how minor, you can benefit from effective legal representation. Dennis Calo, a former prosecutor, offers over 30 years of experience and insight into both sides of the legal system to build a strong and robust defense for each of his valued clients.

If you want a criminal defense lawyer that you can trust to defend your case professionally and aggressively, contact us today and find out how Dennis Calo can help you or visit www.criminaldefense-nj.com for more information.

 

This content was originally posted at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/bergen-county-nj-criminal-lawyer-explains-the-difference-between-being-charged-with-an-offense-or-a-crime/