Did you know that the State of New Jersey aggressively pursues fraud charges? The penalties for fraud vary from case to case and depend on the charges that are laid – but even minor penalties can destroy your future and give you a permanent criminal record. Here’s some advice from a leading fraud defense lawyer in NJ.
What types of fraud charges are there in New Jersey?
The most common types of fraud charges in this state include:
- Credit card fraud: There are two sets of charges for credit card fraud to cover how the card was obtained and how it was used. These cases can include examples such as theft of a credit card, application fraud, buying and selling credit cards or fraudulently signing a credit card.
- Healthcare and insurance fraud: This includes using someone else’s information or name to create false records, knowingly misleading an insurance company or even omitting facts when applying for insurance or healthcare. Even exaggerating the facts on an insurance claim is considered insurance fraud.
- Identity theft or fraud: These charges cover the use of someone else’s identity in order to obtain a benefit or defraud someone else. This can be as simple as stating a different identity orally or through a written application for a service or benefit. Under these terms, using a fake ID to obtain alcohol can be considered identity theft.
Penalties for fraud in New Jersey
The penalties for being convicted for fraud are dependent on the type of offense and the value of the property or money involved, and can range up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $100,000. Additional potential civil penalties can also apply in certain cases and, if you are not a U.S. citizen, these charges can also be used as grounds for deportation.
Get a free fraud case evaluation today from a top defense attorney
Facing fraud charges can be frightening, but an experienced fraud defense lawyer can offer you the best route to a solution. With 40 years of experience in theft and fraud cases, Dennis Calo can build the strongest defense for your case and protect your rights through robust representation all the way to fighting your case at trial. In some cases, Dennis may even be able to assist you in getting into New Jersey’s diversionary program, which may help you avoid jail time altogether and keep your permanent record clear.
The consultation is free, so contact bergen county criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo now or visit www.criminaldefense-nj.com.
This content was originally published at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/what-is-considered-fraud-in-new-jersey/
Murder and homicide charges are the most serious allegations you can face, carrying significant and life-altering penalties if you are convicted. In New Jersey, homicide charges are classified under four categories, namely murder, aggravated murder, manslaughter and death by auto. Although each of these charges carry different requirements for the prosecution as well as different penalties, it is still essential that you retain an experienced homicide defense attorney to ensure your rights are properly protected.
Murder charges in New Jersey
This is a crime in the first degree that can carry a penalty of 30 years to life or even life without the possibility of parole. It is important to note that the state does not use the death penalty, as it has been abolished since 2007.
These charges are given when the prosecution believes that someone “purposely or knowingly caused the death or serious bodily injury that caused the death” of a victim. Integral to this charge is that the prosecution believes that the person was aware that he or she would be causing the victim’s death by their actions, and that they were in a sound state of mind when they did so. In New Jersey, these charges can be made on the basis of spur-of-the-moment actions that caused the death, as they don’t require “malice aforethought” (planning to commit murder).
Manslaughter charges in New Jersey
These include two categories of manslaughter charges, namely manslaughter and aggravated manslaughter.
Manslaughter is a second degree crime that carries a potential penalty of up to 20 years in prison and is made when the prosecution believes the person acted recklessly and without planning the killing, or was provoked into committing the crime – a crime of passion.
Aggravated manslaughter is a first degree crime with a potential penalty of up to 30 years in prison. Here, the prosecution has to show that the person acted with extreme recklessness and disregard for human life.
Death by auto charges in New Jersey
Also known as vehicular homicide, these charges are laid when it is believed that someone operated a vehicle or vessel recklessly, causing death. This is usually a second degree crime with a penalty of up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000. In certain cases death by auto is raised to a first degree crime with a prison sentence of up to 20 years and a $200,000 fine.
Get effective representation from a leading murder and homicide defense attorney today
If you are facing any of these murder or homicide charges, it is essential that you speak to the right defense lawyer. These are serious charges and only a qualified and highly experienced attorney can give you the robust and aggressive defense you deserve while protecting your rights and freedoms.
Dennis Calo is a highly respected and successful criminal defense attorney in New Jersey with over 40 years of experience. As a former prosecutor, he understands both sides of his cases and is able to provide clients with the best possible defense against a wide range of charges, including all homicide charges.
Your freedom deserves a fight, so contact Dennis Calo today.
This content was originally published at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/a-guide-to-murder-and-homicide-charges-in-new-jersey/.