Don’t Let A DUI/DWI Charge Ruin Your Career

With the end of the year and the festive season approaching, the risk of being charged and convicted of a DUI or DWI increases. The State of New Jersey holds some of the strictest DUI/DWI penalties and punishments in the country, so contacting a top DUI and DWI attorney in NJ is essential if you have been charged.

Who needs a DUI or DWI attorney? 

The answer is simple – anyone who has been charged or knows they will likely be charged with these offenses. The laws in New Jersey prevent plea-bargaining for lesser charges to reduce sentences and fines, and law enforcement pursues these cases determinedly even though they are often simple motor vehicle violations. Your attorney will have the experience, inside connections and resilience to fight for your rights and achieve a reduced or even zero-jail time penalty.

Don’t put your career, reputation and family at risk 

Even a minor DUI or DWI conviction will become part of your record – for life. It is standard to check for these offenses when hiring for jobs, making it difficult or even impossible for you to find even basic work. This puts strain on family life, creates a permanent social stigma and can haunt you for your lifetime, which is why the attorney you choose needs to know exactly how to fight these cases to protect your rights, your future and your career.

Speak to a top attorney today for expert DUI and DWI legal defense 

If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI offense, no matter how minor, you can benefit from effective legal representation. Dennis Calo, dui defense attorney and a former prosecutor, offers over 40 years of experience and insight into both sides of the legal system to build a strong and robust defense for each of his valued clients.

The first consultation is free, contact criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo now.

 

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/dont-let-a-duidwi-charge-ruin-your-career/

A Guide To Child Abuse Charges In New Jersey

In the State of New Jersey, charges of child abuse are pursued vigorously by law enforcement and punished harshly by the courts, so it’s important that you understand what these charges really mean and how to fight them. Here’s some useful advice from a leading sex crimes and child abuse defense attorney in NJ.

What is child abuse? 

The State of New Jersey defines child abuse as the emotional, sexual or physical harm (or risk of harm) to a child under 18 years old caused by a parent or caregiver. This is different from child neglect and carries significantly different penalties.

The penalties for child abuse 

The penalties that can result after being convicted of child abuse depend on a range of factors, including the age of the child, whether sexual abuse was committed, the criminal history of the offender and the degree of mental and physical injury done to the child. Jail sentences are often long and can range up to life in prison.
Additional penalties may include:

  • Lifetime registration as a sex offender
  • Termination of your parental rights
  • A permanent criminal record
  • No longer being allowed to touch or have any other form of contact with the child
  • Continued interaction and cooperation with a child protective services agency
  • Ruined reputation, loss of your career and difficulty finding a new job

Because the state regards failure to report suspected child abuse as a disorderly person’s offense, it is vital that you have an experienced defense lawyer on your side as soon as possible to evaluate evidence brought forward by witnesses and build a strong defense.

Facing child abuse charges? You need a defense attorney today 

Being convicted of child abuse offenses will have a devastating effect on your life, your career, your family and your reputation. With law enforcement wanting to demonstrate a strong stance against child abuse, it’s easy for your case to get out of control – and you could end up facing heavy fines, lengthy jail time and the lifelong stigma of a sex offender.

That’s why you should speak to former prosecutor, Dennis Calo, today. With over 40 years of experience in the legal system, he has the skills, knowledge and inside understanding of the New Jersey court system to ensure that you get the best defense available.

Your freedom deserves a fight, contact Dennis Calo today and get a free case evaluation.

 

Orginal content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/a-guide-to-child-abuse-charges-in-new-jersey/