The best defense against murder/homicide charges in New Jersey

Facing murder or homicide charges in the State of New Jersey means dealing with a complex legal system, driven law enforcement agencies and the very real likelihood of life in prison. Facing a murder charge alone, without competent legal assistance, is a recipe for disaster, so the first step is always to ensure that you have an experienced NJ murder and homicide defense attorney at your side. He or she will be support you by providing the best possible defense, which may include:

  • Establishing that you acted in self-defense.
  • Proving that your actions were provoked.
  • Defending your actions if there was no intention to kill or injure.
  • Establishing that there was no intention to kill, but the killing was a result of other factors.

In addition, your defense attorney will attack the prosecution to find holes in their case, including:

  • Questioning if they can prove the underlying crime.
  • Questioning if there is enough of a connection between your actions and the death in question.
  • Using forensic evidence to your advantage.

The consequences of being found guilty for any murder or homicide charge, including manslaughter, vehicular homicide and felony murder, are severe. They range from life in prison to a mandatory 30 years behind bars, financial penalties and a lifetime with a criminal record. However, it is important to note that New Jersey is not a death penalty state, so your life itself will not be forfeited if you are found guilty.

Never back down from your rights – Speak to a leading murder defense lawyer now 

If you are facing any murder or homicide charges in the State of New Jersey, it is essential that you speak to the right defense lawyer. These are serious charges and only a qualified and highly experienced attorney can give you the robust and aggressive defense you deserve while protecting your rights and freedoms.

Dennis Calo is a highly respected and successful criminal defense attorney in New Jersey with over 40 years of experience. As a former prosecutor, he understands both sides of his cases and is able to provide clients with the best possible defense against a wide range of charges, including all homicide charges.

Your freedom deserves a fight, contact murder defense attorney Dennis Calo today.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/the-best-defense-against-murderhomicide-charges-in-new-jersey/

A guide to murder and homicide charges in New Jersey

Murder and homicide charges are the most serious allegations you can face, carrying significant and life-altering penalties if you are convicted. In New Jersey, homicide charges are classified under four categories, namely murder, aggravated murder, manslaughter and death by auto. Although each of these charges carry different requirements for the prosecution as well as different penalties, it is still essential that you retain an experienced homicide defense attorney to ensure your rights are properly protected.
Murder charges in New Jersey 
This is a crime in the first degree that can carry a penalty of 30 years to life or even life without the possibility of parole. It is important to note that the state does not use the death penalty, as it has been abolished since 2007.
These charges are given when the prosecution believes that someone “purposely or knowingly caused the death or serious bodily injury that caused the death” of a victim. Integral to this charge is that the prosecution believes that the person was aware that he or she would be causing the victim’s death by their actions, and that they were in a sound state of mind when they did so. In New Jersey, these charges can be made on the basis of spur-of-the-moment actions that caused the death, as they don’t require “malice aforethought” (planning to commit murder).
Manslaughter charges in New Jersey 
These include two categories of manslaughter charges, namely manslaughter and aggravated manslaughter.
Manslaughter is a second degree crime that carries a potential penalty of up to 20 years in prison and is made when the prosecution believes the person acted recklessly and without planning the killing, or was provoked into committing the crime – a crime of passion.
Aggravated manslaughter is a first degree crime with a potential penalty of up to 30 years in prison. Here, the prosecution has to show that the person acted with extreme recklessness and disregard for human life.
Death by auto charges in New Jersey 
Also known as vehicular homicide, these charges are laid when it is believed that someone operated a vehicle or vessel recklessly, causing death. This is usually a second degree crime with a penalty of up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000. In certain cases death by auto is raised to a first degree crime with a prison sentence of up to 20 years and a $200,000 fine.
Get effective representation from a leading murder and homicide defense attorney today 
If you are facing any of these murder or homicide charges, it is essential that you speak to the right defense lawyer. These are serious charges and only a qualified and highly experienced attorney can give you the robust and aggressive defense you deserve while protecting your rights and freedoms.

Dennis Calo is a highly respected and successful criminal defense attorney in New Jersey with over 40 years of experience. As a former prosecutor, he understands both sides of his cases and is able to provide clients with the best possible defense against a wide range of charges, including all homicide charges.

Your freedom deserves a fight, so contact Dennis Calo today.

This content was originally published at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/a-guide-to-murder-and-homicide-charges-in-new-jersey/.