Charged With Vehicular Homicide? Get An Expert Criminal Defense – Now

Criminal Defense Attorney

 A simple drive can quickly turn into a nightmare when tragedy strikes. Being charged with vehicular homicide can destroy your life, lead to serious prison time and leave you with a permanent criminal record that will make you almost unemployable. The best way to fight these charges and fight for your rights is to put up a strong defense with the assistance of a leading homicide defense attorney in NJ.

 

What do vehicular homicide charges really mean? 

Under New Jersey laws, you don’t have to intend to kill or harm someone in order to face vehicular homicide charges. In fact, the laws specifically say that you have to be driving a vehicle (car, boat or other) recklessly and cause the death of another person. Recklessness in this case means consciously disregarding a substantial risk to safety, like driving while sleep deprived or under the influence of drugs or alcohol, as well as looking away from the road to change the A/C, texting while driving or checking your GPS.

Penalties for vehicular homicide

Due to the loss of a person’s life, these charges carry serious penalties. It is regarded as a 2nd degree felony crime that can carry 5-10 years in state prison along with a fine of up to $150,000. Your driver’s license may be suspended for 5 years up to a lifetime suspension, and you may also face a Wrongful Death civil lawsuit for restitution to the victim’s family.

These charges can increase in severity depending on the location of the incident. For example, if it occurred in a school zone (regardless of whether there were children present or not) this can increase to a crime in the 1st degree with a penalty of 10-20 years in state prison.

Facing vehicular homicide charges? You need the right defense attorney – now

As you can see, a simple mistake or distracted moment can easily land someone in a situation that can destroy their lives and the lives of their loved ones. It’s vital that your rights are protected from the very beginning when facing such serious charges, so don’t hesitate to speak to an experienced defense lawyer immediately.

A former prosecutor is uniquely positioned to give you the advice you need to deliver a strong, effective representation of your case and fight it from every possible angle. If you want a criminal defense lawyer that you can trust to defend your case professionally and aggressively, contact us today at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/contact-us/  for a free case evaluation and find out how Dennis Calo can help you.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/charged-with-vehicular-homicide-get-an-expert-criminal-defense-now/

Don’t Let DUI Drunk Driving Charges In NJ End Your Career

One drink too many, one night of poor judgement, or one misunderstanding – that’s all it takes to destroy your career. DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey are vigorously fought by police, prosecutors and the courts, so if you’re facing these claims, you need the right legal expertise to ensure that your future isn’t one that includes time behind bars. Here are the best ways to fight your DUI/DWI charges, from a leading DUI defense lawyer in NJ.

 The best ways to fight DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey 

  • Disputing suspicion: Police officers are trained to notice certain aspects of behavior and appearance that may be linked to alcohol or drugs – however, this may not be the cause. Medical conditions and medication side effects may also cause these. Video records of the arrest may also be inconsistent with the officer’s account.
  • Challenging the legality of the stop: Officers must demonstrate that they had reasonable, clear cause to pull you over in order to say that the stop was legal.
  • Challenging the reliability of the field sobriety test: The value of these tests can be compromised by other issues that may be unrelated to sobriety but will still deliver a positive result. For example, being overweight or having a physical injury may make it difficult to walk in a straight line or stand on one foot.
  • Challenging the breathalyzer results: Breathalyzers can be compromised if they malfunction, are used improperly, aren’t stored correctly or aren’t of the right quality. They can also give incorrect readings for people with certain medical conditions.
  • The “Rising Blood Alcohol” argument: Science shows that alcohol can take up to 90 minutes to reach peak absorption into the bloodstream, so it can be argued that a blood test taken after arrest showing an over-the-limit result could have been under the limit if taken at the time of the alleged offense.
  • Failure to Mirandize: Everyone has to be read their Miranda rights at the time of their arrest in order to make the arrest legal. Failure to read these rights at the appropriate time and before questioning makes all evidence gathered up until that point inadmissible in court.

Get the legal advice you need when facing DUI or DWI charges in NJ 

As a former prosecutor with over 40 years of experience in the New Jersey criminal justice system, Dennis Calo is a defense attorney with a difference. As a former prosecutor with inside knowledge of how the State works, he can build a robust defense against your DUI/DWI charges and fight for your rights.

Your freedom deserves a fight, DUI/DWI defense attorney Dennis Calo today.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/dont-let-dui-drunk-driving-charges-in-nj-end-your-career/

Understanding Possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance Charges in NJ

If you’ve been charged with drug possession offenses in the State of New Jersey, it’s important to have the expertise of a leading drug defense lawyer on your side from the very beginning. Not only can your attorney explain the charges and defend your rights, he can also examine evidence, speak to witnesses and develop a strong case for your defense – whether you are looking to negotiate a plea or fight the case at trial

How New Jersey Classifies Controlled Dangerous Substances

The State of New Jersey regulates and controls the possession of many drugs, not just well-known illegal substances like heroin and marijuana, as well as the compounds used to manufacture these drugs. It does this through a system of five schedules – Schedule One being the most dangerous drugs most commonly at the root of addiction and drug abuse, while Schedule Five drugs are more recognized for their medical use rather than drug abuse.

What are the penalties for possessing a CDS in NJ? 

It is important to note that the possession of any CDS without a valid medical prescription is considered an offense. Here is a breakdown of the penalties you may face:

  • 3rd degree offense: Any amount, no matter how small, of a Schedule One, Two, Three or Four drug is penalized with a fine of up to $35,000 and/or 3-5 years in prison.
  • 4th degree offense: Any amount of a Schedule Five drug can mean a fine of up to $15,000 and/or 18 months of prison time.
  • Possession of a CDS near a school: If you are within 1,000 of a school or a school bus when the offense takes place, you may face a harsher sentence that includes 100 hours of community service.
  • Repeat offenses: Penalties will become harsher if you have already been convicted for one or more CDS offenses. Both the fine and the jail time may double in this event.

Don’t face CDS charges alone – Speak to a drug defense lawyer today 

If you are facing a criminal charge, you need a lawyer who can provide expert assistance as soon as possible. A former prosecutor is uniquely positioned to give you the advice you need to deliver a strong, effective representation of your case and fight it from every possible angle. If you want a criminal defense lawyer that you can trust to defend your case professionally and aggressively, contact us today and find out how Dennis Calo can help you.

The consultation is free, contact criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo now.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/understanding-possession-of-a-controlled-dangerous-substance-charges-in-nj/

Marijuana possession in NJ: A small amount means big problems

While the United States of America is experiencing increasing tolerance for marijuana use, especially for medical use, recreational use of the drug still carries severe consequences under the laws of the State of New Jersey. While this may change under future laws, it is important to realize that currently, law enforcement and the legal system actively pursues drug charges even in cases where only small amounts of marijuana are present, potentially resulting in fines, permanent criminal records and even jail time.

What is the most minor marijuana charge in the State of New Jersey? 

While charges differ from case to case, it is important to know that no amount of marijuana is too small to avoid an arrest and potential charges. Even simple possession charges for less than 50g of the drug can incur 6 months behind bars and $1,000 in fines, despite being considered a disorderly person’s offense. More than 50g can mean 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.

What does law enforcement need to charge me with marijuana possession? 

Unfortunately, law enforcement agencies are enabled to charge you with marijuana possession under a wide range of circumstances, from finding trace amounts in your vehicle or a joint at a property you own, to finding marijuana paraphernalia on your person or property (for example, scales, jars, etc.) Possession also includes any parts of the plant or derivatives of the plant, including hash and concentrates.

Being under the influence of marijuana, however, is charged differently as being under the influence, which carries similar consequences to a disorderly person’s offense but can also include the suspension of your driver’s license, community service and more.

Get a free case evaluation from a leading drug defense attorney today 

As a marijuana defense attorney and former prosecutor, Dennis Calo knows exactly what it takes to properly challenge these charges, build the strongest defense against marijuana charges and do what it takes to minimize the impact a conviction could have on your future.

Skilled at investigating cases, preparing defenses and representing clients at trial, Dennis treats each case with the individual attention and dedication that it deserves. From the moment you call, to developing your strategy and fighting your charges, he will be there each step of the way.

If you want a trusted and highly recognized attorney to defend your drug charges professionally and aggressively, ask us for a free case evaluation. Your freedom deserves a fight, contact marijuana defense attorney Dennis Calo now.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/marijuana-possession-in-nj-a-small-amount-means-big-problems/

The best defense against murder/homicide charges in New Jersey

Facing murder or homicide charges in the State of New Jersey means dealing with a complex legal system, driven law enforcement agencies and the very real likelihood of life in prison. Facing a murder charge alone, without competent legal assistance, is a recipe for disaster, so the first step is always to ensure that you have an experienced NJ murder and homicide defense attorney at your side. He or she will be support you by providing the best possible defense, which may include:

  • Establishing that you acted in self-defense.
  • Proving that your actions were provoked.
  • Defending your actions if there was no intention to kill or injure.
  • Establishing that there was no intention to kill, but the killing was a result of other factors.

In addition, your defense attorney will attack the prosecution to find holes in their case, including:

  • Questioning if they can prove the underlying crime.
  • Questioning if there is enough of a connection between your actions and the death in question.
  • Using forensic evidence to your advantage.

The consequences of being found guilty for any murder or homicide charge, including manslaughter, vehicular homicide and felony murder, are severe. They range from life in prison to a mandatory 30 years behind bars, financial penalties and a lifetime with a criminal record. However, it is important to note that New Jersey is not a death penalty state, so your life itself will not be forfeited if you are found guilty.

Never back down from your rights – Speak to a leading murder defense lawyer now 

If you are facing any murder or homicide charges in the State of New Jersey, it is essential that you speak to the right defense lawyer. These are serious charges and only a qualified and highly experienced attorney can give you the robust and aggressive defense you deserve while protecting your rights and freedoms.

Dennis Calo is a highly respected and successful criminal defense attorney in New Jersey with over 40 years of experience. As a former prosecutor, he understands both sides of his cases and is able to provide clients with the best possible defense against a wide range of charges, including all homicide charges.

Your freedom deserves a fight, contact murder defense attorney Dennis Calo today.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/the-best-defense-against-murderhomicide-charges-in-new-jersey/

Can a bar fight mean facing NJ assault and battery charges?

In one short word: yes. New Jersey’s assault and battery charges are among some of the strictest in the country and cover a wide range of circumstances ranging from bar fights to domestic violence even serious weapons crimes.

Without the assistance of an experienced defense lawyer, the courts are able to apply strict penalties by interpreting these events in their most serious and violent light – even when what happened in reality is quite different. Often, bar fights can also involve more than assault and battery charges, as law enforcement can also include criminal mischief, resisting arrest and disorderly conduct charges if they want to. This can cause the costs of the case to skyrocket, bringing significant financial penalties as well as jail time knocking on your door.
The reality is that many bar fights occur under the influence of alcohol and can quickly spread to other patrons in a bar without them even being involved in the cause of the fight. Simply being on the scene and even protecting yourself or another using self-defense can still lead to you being arrested, charged and even convicted – ruining your reputation, your career and leaving a permanent criminal record for the rest of your life.

Contact an experienced defense attorney immediately for a free case evaluation

In assault and battery cases, it is essential to speak to a defense attorney as soon as possible. Do not give any statement to law enforcement without your attorney being present and let your attorney deal with police reports, videos and other evidence that has been admitted into the case. With their expertise and ability to investigate the case on your side, you’ll be able to form a strong defense to protect your rights and have the charges reduced or even dropped.

Experienced defense attorneys know the legal system inside out – and former prosecutors know it even more thoroughly. Dennis Calo is a criminal defense attorney with 40 years of experience in a wide range of criminal cases. A respected trial attorney, he can assist you right from the start – from monitoring your arrest to negotiating pleas, robustly representing you in court and managing the appeals process, if needed.

The consultation is free, call criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo now.

Don’t Let A DUI/DWI Charge Ruin Your Career

With the end of the year and the festive season approaching, the risk of being charged and convicted of a DUI or DWI increases. The State of New Jersey holds some of the strictest DUI/DWI penalties and punishments in the country, so contacting a top DUI and DWI attorney in NJ is essential if you have been charged.

Who needs a DUI or DWI attorney? 

The answer is simple – anyone who has been charged or knows they will likely be charged with these offenses. The laws in New Jersey prevent plea-bargaining for lesser charges to reduce sentences and fines, and law enforcement pursues these cases determinedly even though they are often simple motor vehicle violations. Your attorney will have the experience, inside connections and resilience to fight for your rights and achieve a reduced or even zero-jail time penalty.

Don’t put your career, reputation and family at risk 

Even a minor DUI or DWI conviction will become part of your record – for life. It is standard to check for these offenses when hiring for jobs, making it difficult or even impossible for you to find even basic work. This puts strain on family life, creates a permanent social stigma and can haunt you for your lifetime, which is why the attorney you choose needs to know exactly how to fight these cases to protect your rights, your future and your career.

Speak to a top attorney today for expert DUI and DWI legal defense 

If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI offense, no matter how minor, you can benefit from effective legal representation. Dennis Calo, dui defense attorney and a former prosecutor, offers over 40 years of experience and insight into both sides of the legal system to build a strong and robust defense for each of his valued clients.

The first consultation is free, contact criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo now.

 

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/dont-let-a-duidwi-charge-ruin-your-career/