Understanding Possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance Charges in NJ

If you’ve been charged with drug possession offenses in the State of New Jersey, it’s important to have the expertise of a leading drug defense lawyer on your side from the very beginning. Not only can your attorney explain the charges and defend your rights, he can also examine evidence, speak to witnesses and develop a strong case for your defense – whether you are looking to negotiate a plea or fight the case at trial

How New Jersey Classifies Controlled Dangerous Substances

The State of New Jersey regulates and controls the possession of many drugs, not just well-known illegal substances like heroin and marijuana, as well as the compounds used to manufacture these drugs. It does this through a system of five schedules – Schedule One being the most dangerous drugs most commonly at the root of addiction and drug abuse, while Schedule Five drugs are more recognized for their medical use rather than drug abuse.

What are the penalties for possessing a CDS in NJ? 

It is important to note that the possession of any CDS without a valid medical prescription is considered an offense. Here is a breakdown of the penalties you may face:

  • 3rd degree offense: Any amount, no matter how small, of a Schedule One, Two, Three or Four drug is penalized with a fine of up to $35,000 and/or 3-5 years in prison.
  • 4th degree offense: Any amount of a Schedule Five drug can mean a fine of up to $15,000 and/or 18 months of prison time.
  • Possession of a CDS near a school: If you are within 1,000 of a school or a school bus when the offense takes place, you may face a harsher sentence that includes 100 hours of community service.
  • Repeat offenses: Penalties will become harsher if you have already been convicted for one or more CDS offenses. Both the fine and the jail time may double in this event.

Don’t face CDS charges alone – Speak to a drug defense lawyer today 

If you are facing a criminal charge, you need a lawyer who can provide expert assistance as soon as possible. A former prosecutor is uniquely positioned to give you the advice you need to deliver a strong, effective representation of your case and fight it from every possible angle. If you want a criminal defense lawyer that you can trust to defend your case professionally and aggressively, contact us today and find out how Dennis Calo can help you.

The consultation is free, contact criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo now.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/understanding-possession-of-a-controlled-dangerous-substance-charges-in-nj/

What to do when you’re facing heroin possession charges in NJ

If you find yourself charged with heroin possession, the first thing you need to do is speak to a leading heroin defense attorney in NJ. As a commonly used illegal substance, prosecutors and law enforcement pursue these charges aggressively – so you need an experienced lawyer who understands how to properly respond to protect your rights and fight your case.

What are New Jersey’s heroin possession charges?

Heroin possession is charged at a federal as well as a state level. Under federal law, this means paying a minimum $1,000 fine and facing up to a year in prison for a first time offense. For a second offense, individuals face a minimum fine of $2,500 and 15 days to 2 years in prison, while a third offense incurs a minimum fine of $5,000 and 90 days to 3 years in prison.

In the State of New Jersey, possession is considered a third degree crime that, if convicted, incurs a penalty of up to 5 years in prison, suspension of your driving license for at least 6 months and a fine of up to $35,000.

The sale and trafficking of heroin carries even more severe penalties, ranging from fines between $75,000 and $100,000 along with prison time depending on the amount of heroin in an individual’s possession, to 25 years in prison and a $500,000 fine for trafficking. Possession in certain areas like school zones, for example, and selling to certain vulnerable members of society like children or pregnant women, will result in harsher penalties.

How can a heroin defense lawyer assist you?

Firstly, it is essential that you contact your defense attorney as soon as you are charged or if you even suspect that you could be facing these charges. The earlier your attorney is involved in your case, the stronger your defense can be.

With the right attorney, you will be able to challenge every piece of evidence in your case, obtain reduced sentences where possible, downgrade charges where possible, negotiate with the Prosecutor’s Office on your behalf and apply to drug court as an alternative to prison.

Find a heroin defense attorney in NJ who will fight your case with dedication and aggression

As a heroin defense attorney and former prosecutor, Dennis Calo knows exactly what it takes to properly challenge these charges, build the strongest possible defense and do what it takes to minimize the impact a conviction could have on your future.

Skilled at investigating cases, preparing defenses and representing clients at trial, Dennis treats each case with the individual attention and dedication that it deserves. From the moment you call, to developing your strategy and fighting your charges, he will be there each step of the way.

If you want a trusted and highly recognized attorney to defend your heroin charges professionally and aggressively, ask us for a free case evaluation. Your freedom deserves a fight, contact Dennis Calo today.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/what-to-do-when-youre-facing-heroin-possession-charges-in-nj/

Why your lawyer’s experience counts when you’re facing drug possession charges

In the State of New Jersey, drug possession charges can be incredibly complex and confusing. If you are facing these charges, properly negotiating this system of laws and legal procedures is vital for getting the best possible result for your case. Here, your lawyer’s experience will really matter, as they will be able to act in your best interests and look ahead to manage your case as successfully as possible – so don’t leave your future up to chance. Find out more from a leading drug defense attorney in NJ.

Penalties for drug possession in New Jersey 

Drug possession penalties will vary according to how much of the substance was found and the act that you are accused of committing. The consequences will become more severe if the prosecutors believe there was an intent to distribute, if it is a repeat offense, if the offense is alleged to have occurred within 1,000 feet of a school or if the drugs were found or used in the commission of another crime. This can increase your sentence from 6 months and a $1,000 fine to 20 years in prison under a 1st degree sentence.

Even simple possession charges carry stiff penalties. Something as simple as finding a joint or two on a property that belongs to you or trace amounts of marijuana in your car can leave you facing a fine of up to $1,000 and 6 months behind bars. Worse, you will receive a permanent criminal record that can have devastating effects on your career, family and social standing.

How an experienced drug defense attorney will defend your case 

There are several angles at which a top attorney can break down the State’s case against you, including:

  • Moving to exclude evidence that was unlawfully obtained.
  • Seeking a reasonable plea agreement, for example, for reduced time or the dropping of other charges – only if it is in the client’s best interests.
  • Breach of chain of custody.
  • Lack of evidence or proof of possession.
  • Aggressive representation at trial, if needed.

Speak to a leading drug defense lawyer today – ask us for a free case evaluation 

As a drug defense attorney and former prosecutor, Dennis Calo knows exactly what it takes to properly challenge these charges, build the strongest possible defense and do what it takes to minimize the impact a conviction could have on your future.

Skilled at investigating cases, preparing defenses and representing clients at trial, Dennis treats each case with the individual attention and dedication that it deserves. From the moment you call, to developing your strategy and fighting your charges, he will be there each step of the way.

If you want a trusted and highly recognized attorney to defend your drug charges professionally and aggressively, ask us for a free case evaluation. Your freedom deserves a fight, contact Dennis Calo today.

Original content posted on http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/why-your-lawyers-experience-counts-when-youre-facing-drug-possession-charges/

7 things to know about marijuana possession

Over the last few years, laws throughout the United States have changed dramatically regarding marijuana use and possession, with some states legalizing medical and recreational use, and others continuing to implement harsh laws. To avoid confusion and facing serious penalties, read this information from a leading New Jersey marijuana defense attorney.

  1. The State of New Jersey allows the use of medical marijuana: New Jersey’s laws allow the use of medical marijuana for certain conditions, including cancer, HIV/AIDS, multiple sclerosis and other severe conditions. This is available under specific conditions from state-licensed dispensaries at a limit of two ounces a month.
  2. Possession of 50g or less is a minor offense: This is categorized as a disorderly person offense and can carry up to 6 months incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000.
  3. Possession of more than 50g is a serious offense: Categorized as a 4th degree crime, this can incur up to 18 months incarceration and a fine of up to $25,000.
  4. Possession within 1000 feet of a school: This adds 100 hours of community service to a sentence with an additional fine.
  5. First time disorderly person offenders have access to a diversionary program: This is known as Conditional Discharge and usually involves drug testing instead of jail time and removing the offense from the individual’s personal record as long as the drug tests are consistently negative and other rules are followed.
  6. How New Jersey treats distribution or possession with intent to distribute: These punishments vary according to the amount of marijuana for sale or distribution as well as the nature of the buyers (for example, minors or pregnant women carry more severe penalties) and the proximity of the crime to certain public property. This can range from a 4th degree crime carrying 18 months incarceration and a fine of up to $25,000 for less than one ounce to a 1st degree crime carrying 10-20 years incarceration and a fine of up to $300,000 for 25 lbs or more.
  7. Even the smallest possession charge can destroy your future: Something as simple as marijuana paraphernalia, traces of marijuana and even finding a joint on your property can land you in a significant amount of trouble with law enforcement. Without the right legal advice and representation, even the most minor marijuana possession charge could go down on your permanent record, your driving license can be revoked and you will have to live with a lifelong stigma that can destroy your family and career.

Don’t let a marijuana possession charge ruin your future – speak to the right attorney today

Marijuana possession and distribution charges are zealously pursued by law enforcement, and whether you simply found yourself in the wrong place at the wrong time, were set up by an informant or arrested as a result of a misunderstanding, these charges bring severe penalties as well as lifelong repercussions. As a marijuana defense attorney and former prosecutor, Dennis Calo knows exactly what it takes to properly challenge these charges, build the strongest possible defense and do what it takes to minimize the impact a conviction could have on your future.

Skilled at investigating cases, preparing defenses and representing clients at trial, Dennis treats each case with the individual attention and dedication that it deserves. From the moment you call, to developing your strategy and fighting your charges, he will be there each step of the way.

If you want a trusted and highly recognized attorney to defend your marijuana charges professionally and aggressively, ask us for a free case evaluation. Your freedom deserves a fight, contact Dennis Calo today.

 

This content was originally posted at http://www.criminaldefense-nj.com/blog/7-things-to-know-about-marijuana-possession/